命の出汁 – broth of vigour

an adventure in japanese cuisine, an obsession with the izakaya

New York State of Mind . . . Blue Fin

Leave a comment

In New York a day or two before starting a 2 week course with for work, needed a sushi hit (my 30 minute layover at Narita didn’t really lend itself to the opportunity). Staying right near Times Square was great location wise but I had Sunday day time which dropped off some of the “must see” ones I had on the list (such as the original Sushi Yasuda).

After a small google I decided on a short wander for an early lunch to Blue Fin only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The sushi was good, but a little pricey no doubt due to it’s location but I can’t complain about the variety.

Sushi_Blue_Fin

Technically I arrived for “Brunch” which seems to be an insanely popular concept in New York. Half the menu was a Raw Bar and Sushi and the other half full of eggs, muesli and other brekky stuff.

My mental illness kicked in and I asked the waiter if it was technically possible at brunch to order a plate of sushi with a side of applewood bacon. “Of Course, Sir” was the reply. I didn’t, but I can’t say I wasn’t tempted. The Gaijin in me showing wildly. Going to run that idea past my Japanese circle when I stop there for a week on the way home ;).

Leave a comment